Apollo Tactical Survival Compound Bow Review | Canadian Prepper

121 0 0
1467296569_hqdefault.jpg
Home Gear Apollo Tactical Survival Compound Bow Review | Canadian Prepper
Published on June 30, 2016

*If you don’t have a facebook you can also share the video on twitter as a contest entry requirement.

Lifetime Warranty… I review a very tough compound bow system which would be great for a bug out location or Bug out vehicle, it has every possible thing one needs to get started included a double walled case and arrows with broadheads.

Hunting requires accuracy and stealth, in order to procure large game tools like this are far more practical than traditional ones, which is not to say traditional longbows or recurves don’t have their place its just that the compound bow system is a far superior weapon.

Get yours here (black version 750)
http://astore.amazon.com/canaprepyoutc-20/detail/B016YNP0FG

Purple version (Purple Version 700)
http://astore.amazon.com/canaprepyoutc-20/detail/B016Y867GC

Apollo Tactical Website
http://www.apollo-tactical.com/

GET THAT 3D DEER TARGET (Cheapest one available) HERE
http://amzn.to/22H3Gpi

CONTEST ENTRY REQUIREMENTS
1) Like
2) Share on Facebook
3) Leave a comment that talks about recurves or traditional bows VS compounds for survival situations. Or just any comment about the utility of a compound bow for a survival situation!

Deadline is June 30th 2016! GOOD LUCK!!!

source

  1. ya compond bows are awesome alot more moving parts hey man i shared on twitter and instagram hope thats ok

  2. Compound bow. A compound bow is a modern bow that uses a levering system, usually of cables and pulleys, to bend the limbs. The pulley/cam system grants the wielder a mechanical advantage, and so the limbs of a compound bow are much stiffer than those of a recurve bow or longbow ps thanks candian prepper for being a amazing youtuber and putting out great information

  3. i did all the requriments !! ive never used a bow but always wanted !!! all i know is compond bows are alot more arcuate compared to the others

  4. KevDoes

    I feel that you can learn how to shoot and master a compound bow quicker than a recurve bow. Also, pulling back and being accurate with a recurve bow in a tree stand will be way harder than a compound.

  5. Btw I did share on my twitter but I don't know how to prove that twitter novice too lol. Let me now what to do because I did want to enter your contest.

  6. I remember the first time I got to hold a compound bow. It was my uncles he happened to be moving a lot of his stuff around and I picked it up. The moment he saw me he started telling me about it. "Its basically like the Ferrari of bows…" he told me about the cams and how they aided to the stability and power. I expressed interest and I was immediately lent a old recurve of his. I loved it, and I started getting decent. I eventually got to use his compound and I felt that's the upgrade I wanted, holding my aim was way better. Unfortunately the only bow I own still is a Pse snake I usually borrow his and I'm glad he allows it lol. There is a certain charm to traditional but compound usually hits the mark for me. I'm still a novice Imo.

  7. Compound bows tend to be easier to shoot and less physically stressful than traditional bows due to their "let off". That reduction in pull weight means you can shoot longer with less fatigue. Fatigue that will effect your accuracy over time. While not limited to only compound bows, the addition of fall away rests and sights tend to be easier. The one short coming to the compound bows are parts that wear or can break and the occasional need of specialized tools when it comes to repairs. The material used in the construction of compound bows also means they are not as effected my weather conditions like rain or humidity that can destroy a traditional bow (There are traditional bows made of modern materials that share these benefits.) Cold can be an issue with any type of bow however, the manufacturer knows the limitations and can often provide information about safe operating temperature ranges.
    In one of those "I dream of extinction events", it is quite possible to make a functional traditional bow and some arrows with simple hand tools, where as the replication of parts for a compound bow, well… not so easy. Not to mention trying to find or make arrows if you manage to destroy those specialty arrows your compound bow requires. But if you do happen to find some replacement arrows, your traditional bow will likely handle them fine. String breakage is another issue easier solved for the traditional bow as things like catgut and similar can be utilized. Try that on a compound bow…
    In my personal view, there are benefits and limitations to both platforms. In an ideal world, we would have all the parts we would ever need to maintain our compound bows. In reality, I'll take a compound bow over a traditional in the beginning but I will always remember how to make a traditional self bow and arrows just in case.

  8. Wow brother freaking sweet compound!!! Really like it… I am going to have to throw my hat in on this one!!! If it isn't to late!!!
    Recurve vs compound, in my opinion, the recurve is a great all around survival bow, can be compact, simple (nothing to damage in a survival situation), portable, reliable, and light weight… Compound has advantages of sights, range and kinetic energy (more powerful). Many hunters including myself, hunt big game with a compound bow (power and sights), but there are some that still hunt big game with traditional long bows, which I will be turkey hunting traditional this year. I prefer a recurve for survival and bugging out, simply because of the portability and simplistic design. Excellent giveaway brother!!!! Awesome piece of kit!!

  9. I agree with Kaludis; I can't draw a regular bow like I did 30 years ago. However, a regular bow can be made from primitive materials in the woods in a SHTF situation or any survival situation. The compound bow is far superior in accuracy and ease of use.

  10. I agree with Kaludis; I can't draw a regular bow like I did 30 years ago. However, a regular bow can be made from primitive materials in the woods in a SHTF situation or any survival situation. The compound bow is far superior in accuracy and ease of use.

  11. I agree with Kaludis; I can't draw a regular bow like I did 30 years ago. However, a regular bow can be made from primitive materials in the woods in a SHTF situation or any survival situation. The compound bow is far superior in accuracy and ease of use.

  12. I agree with Kaludis; I can't draw a regular bow like I did 30 years ago. However, a regular bow can be made from primitive materials in the woods in a SHTF situation or any survival situation. The compound bow is far superior in accuracy and ease of use.

  13. I agree with Kaludis; I can't draw a regular bow like I did 30 years ago. However, a regular bow can be made from primitive materials in the woods in a SHTF situation or any survival situation. The compound bow is far superior in accuracy and ease of use.

  14. I agree with Kaludis; I can't draw a regular bow like I did 30 years ago. However, a regular bow can be made from primitive materials in the woods in a SHTF situation or any survival situation. The compound bow is far superior in accuracy and ease of use.

  15. I agree with Kaludis; I can't draw a regular bow like I did 30 years ago. However, a regular bow can be made from primitive materials in the woods in a SHTF situation or any survival situation. The compound bow is far superior in accuracy and ease of use.

  16. Mr Kush

    if you have never shot any bow, you have a long road ahead of you before you should ethically "hunt".

    Compounds have sights,easier power to hold and faster speeds.

    Recurves can have sights also has soeed and power though you are holding the actual draw weight.

    Longbows are traditional, no sights and you better be a damn good shot and know your accurate range.

    Bows aside, you should know about arrow penetration, kill spots, tracking etc… Not just flinging arrows at an elk and hoping it dies. one shot, heavy arrow at a certain spot.

    with any bow you should know you can put 10/10 arrows in an 6-8" spot all the time. And know your bow poundage is strong enough. Different provinces/states have different criteria for bow draw weight, broahead rules etc… do some research.

    if your brand new to archery, you have no business hunting with a bow.

    BUT, its an awesome past time and should be acheived given the right or ethical approach.

    I have shot for about 4 years, 3 traditional. For the last 2 years onhave studied hunting,practicing, stalking, reading, practicing and more practice.

    I had many shots available last fall but they were out of range, no decent shot placement and not the right time to take the shot.

    you may be an avid accurate gun hunter, but if your new to archery id say take some time and see what style of bow appeals to you and why?

    No bow style is better or worse, its the archer/hunter that decides what is best.

    Good luck.
    ps i hope i win my comment dessiapere for some reason i had to re type everything :(

  17. Mr Kush

    good pick on the bow i like the compound very accurate bow hey man by any chance do you have a website that you sell merch?

  18. Mr Kush

    hey i didnt post the link of my face book because of priacy but i did share it !!! i hope i win i love bows (:

  19. on a survival situation I would prefer the takedown recurves (especially the one you gave away 2 weeks ago) cause it save you a lot of space and are more instinct based. But just for the fun of it (or hunting with the absolute certainty that you will hit the target) compounds are just performance beast and badass looking ^^

  20. Mr Kush

    if you have never shot any bow, you have a long road ahead of you before you should ethically "hunt".

    Compounds have sights,easier power to hold and faster speeds.

    Recurves can have sights also has soeed and power though you are holding the actual draw weight.

    Longbows are traditional, no sights and you better be a damn good shot and know your accurate range.

    Bows aside, you should know about arrow penetration, kill spots, tracking etc… Not just flinging arrows at an elk and hoping it dies. one shot, heavy arrow at a certain spot.

    with any bow you should know you can put 10/10 arrows in an 6-8" spot all the time. And know your bow poundage is strong enough. Different provinces/states have different criteria for bow draw weight, broahead rules etc… do some research.

    if your brand new to archery, you have no business hunting with a bow.

    BUT, its an awesome past time and should be acheived given the right or ethical approach.

    I have shot for about 4 years, 3 traditional. For the last 2 years onhave studied hunting,practicing, stalking, reading, practicing and more practice.

    I had many shots available last fall but they were out of range, no decent shot placement and not the right time to take the shot.

    you may be an avid accurate gun hunter, but if your new to archery id say take some time and see what style of bow appeals to you and why?

    No bow style is better or worse, its the archer/hunter that decides what is best.
    ps hope i win (:

  21. A compound now has many mechanical moving parts, it makes a great stealthy hunting weapon, but can break down, and in a SHTF situation, you will have trouble repairing a compound now, with a traditional bow, less moving parts, to no moving parts and can be repaired with little to no skills.

  22. An arrow shot with a compound bow will drop less than one shot with a recurve. This is a big
    thing for accuracy especially if it’s windy. But I don’t feel like the complex pulley system will
    last long in post-SHTF…

  23. This bow looks like an awesome set up. That said, you'll need a couple spare strings and you will also need to have on hand the tools and some and know how to keep the bow a viable tool/weapon in a long term situation. Great vid watched, it 3+ times, shared it to Facebook & liked it,  thanks for the review!

  24. In addition, I haven't seen anyone note the convenient shorter overall length of a compound when slung on the back or strapped to a pack, especially in the denser woodland environs (as opposed to desert/tundra) where the closer range required in bow hunting is most viable.

  25. I am based in Russia as a resident, not a citizen and thus am extremely limited in my choice of long range weapons, be it for hunting or shtf. This just become my number one wish list item for all the reasons stated here and also as a fantastic workaround for my unusual legal status. Definitely worth considering for UK, New Zealand, anyplace with draconian firearm controls. Thanks

  26. Pretty sweet set up. Have been dreaming of compound bows for a while, but big investment to get started. Always loved the more primitive aspect of using a bow. Your compound bow is more powerful and more accurate than a traditional. Probably the main reason I would start with a compound bow and see where that takes me.

  27. In my case I would choose a compound bow manly because I only have a compound bow but also they have so many more attachments than a normal traditional.

  28. I shoot a traditional bow. The convinience factor and simplicity. far outwiegh the difficulty of mastering the traditional bow (though no one ever truly masters the traditional bow). I worked in an archery shop and did tons of repair work on compound bows. The average archer couldn't make their own repairs due to complexity/lack of tools.

  29. price¿??¿
    i want one now!!!

  30. Awesome, I want it !!! 😀
    https://www.facebook.com/matthias.roettig/posts/908744072570283?pnref=story
    Both a traditional recurve and a compound bow work like this: 
    Imagine holding a bow in your hand, the two bits of the bow that extend
    either side and have the string attached are called the “limbs” – these
    flex as you pull back the string and help store the force that is going
    to launch your arrow towards the target.Now, just imagine you go
    to take a shot with a recurve bow – you position yourself in the right
    stance, pull the bow back. At first it’s easy to pull back, but the more
    you pull back that bow, the more work it takes until at full draw
    you’re using a lot of strength to hold it there ready to shoot! Let’s
    say you’re not ready to actually shoot yet – pretty soon you’re going to
    get tired and are either going to have to take a pot shot at whatever
    you were aiming at, or you’re going to have to cancel the shot and wait
    until another opportunity presents itself.Let’s replay that with a
    compound bow:  you stand in the position, raise the bow, and pull back
    that string! At first the string is hard to pull back, and gets harder
    the further back it goes, but at a certain point it all suddenly becomes
    easy again.This is the point called the “let off” point. It is
    one of the most important things that makes a compound bow arguably
    superior to a traditional recurve. When the sting is released the arrow
    flies forwards with the same force as it would have had with a recurve
    bow, despite how easy it was for you to hold it back.

  31. Traditional bows can be made from all kind of materials. Thus they would be easier to repair
    in post-SHTF, as opposed to compound bows. But you need some skill to make a bow, and in
    the meantime compound bows are more powerful and accurate.

  32. Ryan P

    I have to say i have a 60lb re curve and a Cheap-ish PSE compound. The thing i like about the re curve is you are relying on a non mechanical thus more reliable tool but you sacrifice accuracy to a certain extent. On the flip side you can hold your shot longer with the compound and i do feel like i have more accuracy with it but i am relying on many many moving parts and nuts and bolts which to me is a down side. But i enjoy shooting both for hunting and just for fun. I am a new sub and i love your vids. Keep up the great work.

  33. Jordan

    Compound bows are going to require far more maintenance if we are talking a long-term survival situation. They do usually get more power, but they are also heavier and I would prefer a lighter weapon to hunt with than a compound bow.

  34. A compound bow is typically harder to draw, but it provides more firing power for a smaller draw length.

  35. Seems that a compound bow would be better for a woman's upper body strength. It is difficult for me to really get enough torque with a typical recurve bow…although I'm excellent with targets!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *